fbpx
New album I Get a Kick out of You
Release 12 January 2024
Frederik Steenbrink

Encore Music |  Released on 12.01.2024

I Get A Kick…

I Get a Kick out of You - Frederik Steenbrink

This album has its roots in New York, where I was taking some classes at The New School university one hot summer. What better place for an aspiring singer-songwriter to soak up the essence of things than New York?

Showman’s, Smoke, Birdland, and the Off- and On-Broadway theaters where new forms of music and entertainment were trying to make their way. I saw, listened to, and admired Randy Newman, Liza Minnelli, Tony Bennett, and Michael Feinstein.

One hot Sunday afternoon, despite all the craziness, urgency, and effervescence, I felt as if the city had come to a standstill. It was about to rain, a storm was rumbling over the towers and their lonely walls, and nothing was moving, even in Central Park.

From a small café on the corner of 57th and Broadway rose a Cole Porter melody. A few lines presented themselves to me: Sunday in New York, the rain before it falls, no one’s going to the park, a Yiddish band plays Yerushalayim Shel Zahav, a drunken homeless journalist, a horde of Chinese bumblebees, the piano plays a Porter tune, at the Waldorf Astoria tea salon… I jotted them down in a notebook, not knowing what to do with them at the time.

The following Monday, a friend took me to The Village Vanguard, where the big band played “Anything Goes”, by Cole Porter again. A few years later, when I moved to another home, I stumbled upon these lines and others: “Sunday in New York”, “Hotel Amour” and “Take Me Home”. I’d worked Cole Porter down to the last detail and listened to the big bands of Count Basie, Duke Ellington, and Benny Goodman over and over again. It all seemed to come full circle.

I was missing one element, a partner, until I came across a drummer in a Paris club. As we chatted in the bar after the concert, we discovered that we shared the same inspirations. The idea was there: the big band, Cole Porter, and the lyrics for new songs.

It has taken me two years to bring together what I consider to be some of the finest young talent who perceive the phrasing necessary for this kind of music. The title “I Get a Kick Out of You”, by Cole Porter, of course, is also a personal dedication to New York, Paris, and the talented musicians involved.

Frederik Steenbrink

 

When we talk about American music as our country’s gift to the rest of the world, we’re generally referring to two closely related forms, jazz and the Great American Songbook. But in listening to this exciting new album from the excellent European singer Frederik Steenbrink, I’m struck by how these two bodies of music jointly transcend the generations as well as the continents.

In the hands of the Dutch-born, Paris-based singer, writer, composer and entertainer Frederik Steenbrink, the two forms are not only thriving, but continue to work together, each complementing and supporting the other. As rendered by Mr. Steenbrink and orchestrated by the talented arranger and drummer Philippe Maniez – and played by an ace big band featuring many of the best jazz players in Paris – these well-known songs of the ‘30s and ‘40s sound both classic and contemporary.

The format here reminds me of a classic album by the late Mel Tormé titled My Kind of Music. This 1961 release consisted of half classic songs by the great Broadway tunesmiths Arthur Schwartz and Howard Dietz, while the other half was original songs by Mel himself. Frederik employs a variation on that idea here: half of the songs are by one of the great icons of popular songwriting, the legendary Cole Porter, which alternate with worthwhile originals by Frederik and Phil.

Of the Porter songs, Frederik and the band do a particularly outstanding job with “Love for Sale”; it’s the rare male singer who delivers that once-controversial song exactly as written. “You’re the Top” is a welcome duet with Frederik’s longtime singing partner, the formidable Isabelle Georges. I’m also particularly taken with “Anything Goes”, which features an impressive baritone saxophone solo by Balthazar Naturel.

The original numbers are also noteworthy; “Stains of Love” is a highly original list song set in a lilting yet swinging pattern, “Sunday in New York” is something very interesting indeed; it’s an upbeat, hard-swinging number, yet the lyrics and the story they tell is precisely the opposite of what you’d expect – In direct contrast to the melody, it’s a surprisingly melancholy and downbeat tale of two lovers, not meeting, but rather breaking up. This album proves that great American music is alive and well, all over the world.

Will Friedwald writes about music and popular culture for The Wall Street Journal, Vanity Fair, The New York Times, The New York Stage Review and other publications. He is the author of ten books, including the award-winning A Biographical Guide To The Great Jazz And Pop Singers, Sinatra! The Song Is You: A Singer’s Art, Tony Bennett: The Good Life, and Straighten Up and Fly Right: The Life and Music of Nat King Cole. He has written over 600 liner notes for compact discs, received eleven Grammy nominations and appears frequently on television and other documentaries. He is also consultant and curator for Apple Music.

 

Artistic direction Isabelle Georges & Frederik Steenbrink. Musical direction & drums Philippe Maniez. All songs arranged by Philippe Maniez except (5) Bastien Ballaz. Piano Noé Huchard (1, 3, 5, 7, 9 & 12), Maxime Sanchez (2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 11 & 13). Double bass Viktor Nyberg. Guitare Vladimir Médail. Trumpet & flugelhorn Julien Ecrepont, Malo Mazurié & Thomas Mestres. Alto saxophone & flute Pascal Mabit. Tenor saxophone, clarinet & flute Adrien Sanchez. Tenor saxophone & clarinet Corentin Giniaux. Baritone saxophone & bass clarinet Balthazar Naturel. Trombone Loïc Bachevillier, Balthazar Bodin. Bass trombone Luca Spiler. You’re the Top is performed in duet with Isabelle Georges.

All original songs: Music Frederik Steenbrink & Philippe Maniez. Lyrics Frederik Steenbrink

Recorded at Studio de Meudon on 18 & 19 May and 20 November 2023 by Sami Bouvet assisted by Aurélien Marotte and Sofiane Mekdoud-Sion. And BB24 Studio, Paris on 9, 12, 15, 23, 25 & 31 May & 5, 6 & 14 June 2023 by Julien Clarac and Romain Burgeat. Mix and mastering in Dolby Atmos Surround at Labomatic Studios by Dominique Blanc-Francard. Photography by Renaud Corlouër at Studio Guillaume Tell. Design by Stéphane Kerrad, KB Studios, Paris. Produced by Encore Music. Made in France by MPO

Booklet

Encore Music |  Released on 12.01.2024

I Get A Kick…

13 titles

1

Just One of Those Things

2

Stains of Love

3

I Get a Kick Out of You

4

So Unreal

5

Anything Goes

6

Sunday in New York

7

I Concentrate on You

8

Alarming Safety

9

Love for Sale

10

Nowhere at All

11

Hotel Amour

12

You’re the Top

13

Take Me Home

Other albums


I Get a Kick out of You - Frederik Steenbrink

I Get A Kick…

Duets with Isabelle Georges

Frederik Steenbrink September Morn

September Morn

fbpx
Nouvel album I Get a Kick out of You
Sortie le 12 janvier 2024
Frederik Steenbrink

Encore Music |  Sortie le 12.01.2024

I Get A Kick…

I Get a Kick out of You - Frederik Steenbrink

L’album I Get a Kick Out Out of You prend ses racines à New York, où je suivais un stage de quelques mois à la New School University. Quoi de mieux que New York pour le singer-songwriter et musicien aspirant que j’étais, quoi de mieux pour m’imprégner de l’essence même des choses.

Showman’s, Smoke, Birdland, les théâtres Off- et On-Broadway où les nouvelles formes de spectacles, de musiques tentent de se frayer un chemin. J’y ai vu, écouté et admiré Randy Newman, Liza Minnelli, Tony Bennett et Michael Feinstein.

Soudain, un dimanche, malgré la folie, l’urgence et l’effervescence qui fusaient, j’ai eu l’impression que la ville s’était arrêtée. Il allait pleuvoir, un orage grondait au-dessus des tours et leurs murs solitaires, rien ne bougeait, même à Central Park.

D’un café à l’angle de la 57e et Broadway s’est échappée une mélodie de Cole Porter. Quelques lignes se sont présentées à moi : Sunday in New York, the rain before it falls, no one’s going to the park, a Yiddish band plays Yerushalayim Shel Zahav, a drunken homeless journalist, a horde of Chinese bumblebees, the piano plays a Porter tune, at the Waldorf Astoria tea salon… Je les ai notées dans un cahier, ne sachant qu’en faire, à cet instant.

Le lundi suivant, un ami m’emmène au Village Vanguard, le Big Band joue Anything Goes, encore Cole Porter. Quelques années après, lors d’un déménagement, j’ai retrouvé ces lignes et d’autres… Sunday in New York, So Unreal, Hotel Amour, Take Me Home, Stains of Love. J’avais travaillé Cole Porter jusque dans les moindres détails, écouté en boucle les Big Bands de Count Basie, Duke Ellington, Benny Goodman. La boucle semblait bouclée.

Il me manquait un élément, un partenaire, jusqu’à ce que je croise, dans un club parisien, un batteur. En échangeant au bar après le concert, on s’est découvert les mêmes inspirations, les mêmes références, les mêmes envies. L’idée était là, le Big Band, Cole Porter, des textes pour des chansons nouvelles.

Il m’a fallu deux ans pour réunir ceux que je considère parmi les meilleurs jeunes talents de Jazz à Paris, ceux qui connaissent le phrasé nécessaire pour ce type de musique. Le titre s’est imposé comme une évidence I Get A Kick Out Of You, pour Cole Porter, bien sûr, mais aussi pour New York, Paris, et ces talentueux musiciens impliqués.

Frederik Steenbrink

 

Quand on parle de la musique américaine comme d’un cadeau de notre pays au reste du monde, on fait généralement référence à deux formes étroitement liées, le jazz et le Songbook American. En écoutant ce nouvel album passionnant de l’excellent chanteur européen Frederik Steenbrink, je suis frappé par la façon dont ces deux styles musicaux transcendent conjointement les générations et les continents.

Dans les mains de Frederik Steenbrink, chanteur, auteur, compositeur et artiste né aux Pays-Bas et basé à Paris, les deux formes ne sont pas seulement prospères, elles continuent à travailler ensemble, se complétant et se soutenant l’une l’autre. Telles qu’interprétées par M. Steenbrink, orchestrées par le talentueux arrangeur et batteur Philippe Maniez – et jouées par un excellent big band composé de plusieurs des meilleurs musiciens de jazz de Paris – ces chansons bien connues des années 30 et 40 sonnent à la fois classiques et contemporaines.

Le format de cet album me rappelle un album classique du regretté Mel Tormé intitulé My Kind of Music. Cet album de 1961 était composé pour moitié de chansons classiques des grands compositeurs de Broadway Arthur Schwartz et Howard Dietz, et pour l’autre moitié, de chansons originales écrites par Mel lui-même. Frederik utilise ici une variante de cette idée : la moitié des chansons sont de l’une des grandes icônes de l’écriture populaire, le légendaire Cole Porter, et alternent avec des chansons originales de Frederik et Phil.

Parmi les chansons de Porter, Frederik et le groupe font un travail particulièrement remarquable avec Love for Sale ; c’est le rare chanteur masculin qui interprète cette chanson, autrefois controversée, exactement comme elle a été écrite. You’re the Top est un duo bienvenu avec la partenaire de longue date de Frederik, la formidable Isabelle Georges. J’ai été particulièrement séduit par Anything Goes, l’une des nombreuses chansons qui comporte un impressionnant solo de saxophone baryton par Balthazar Naturel.

Les numéros originaux de Frederik et Philippe sont remarquables ; Stains of Love est une chanson très originale en forme de liste sur un rythme à la fois chantant et swinguant, Sunday in New York est très intéressante ; c’est un numéro optimiste, qui swingue fort, et pourtant les paroles et l’histoire sont précisément à l’opposé de ce à quoi on pourrait s’attendre – en contraste direct avec la mélodie, c’est une histoire étonnamment mélancolique de deux amants qui ne se rencontrent pas, mais qui se séparent plutôt. Cet album prouve que la grande musique américaine est bien vivante, partout dans le monde.

Will Friedwald écrit sur la musique et la culture populaire pour The Wall Street Journal, Vanity Fair, The New York Times, The New York Stage Review et d’autres publications. Il est l’auteur d’une dizaine de livres, dont le primé A Biographical Guide To The Great Jazz And Pop Singers, Sinatra! The Song Is You: A Singer’s Art, Tony Bennett: The Good Life, and Straighten Up and Fly Right: The Life and Music of Nat King Cole. Il a écrit plus de 600 liner-notes d’albums, a été nommé onze fois aux Grammy Awards et apparaît fréquemment à la télévision et dans d’autres documentaires. Il est également consultant pour Apple Music.

 

Réalisation & direction artistique Isabelle Georges & Frederik Steenbrink. Direction musicale & batterie Philippe Maniez. Arrangements Philippe Maniez sauf (5) Bastien Ballaz. Piano Noé Huchard (1, 3, 5, 7, 9 & 12), Maxime Sanchez (2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 11 & 13). Contrebasse Viktor Nyberg. Guitare Vladimir Médail. Trompette & flugelhorn Julien Ecrepont, Malo Mazurié & Thomas Mestres. Saxophone alto & flûte Pascal Mabit. Saxophone ténor, clarinet & flûte Adrien Sanchez. Saxophone ténor & clarinette Corentin Giniaux. Saxophone baryton & clarinette basse Balthazar Naturel. Trombone Loïc Bachevillier, Balthazar Bodin. Trombone basse Luca Spiler. You’re the Top est interprété en duo avec Isabelle Georges.

Chansons originales : Musique Frederik Steenbrink & Philippe Maniez. Paroles Frederik Steenbrink

Big Band enregistré au Studio de Meudon les 18 & 19 mai et 20 novembre 2023 par Sami Bouvet assisté d’Aurélien Marotte et Sofiane Mekdoud-Sion. Prises de voix au BB24 Studio, Paris les 9, 12, 15, 23, 25 & 31 mai & 5, 6 & 14 juin 2023 par Julien Clarac et Romain Burgeat. Mixage et mastering en Dolby Atmos Surround au Labomatic Studios par Dominique Blanc-Francard. Photos par Renaud Corlouër au Studio Guillaume Tell, Suresnes. Graphisme par Stéphane Kerrad, KB Studio, Paris. Fabriqué en France par MPO. Produit par Encore Music.

Livret

 

Encore Music |  Sortie le 12.01.2024

I Get A Kick…

13 titres

1

Just One of Those Things

2

Stains of Love

3

I Get a Kick Out of You

4

So Unreal

5

Anything Goes

6

Sunday in New York

7

I Concentrate on You

8

Alarming Safety

9

Love for Sale

10

Nowhere at All

11

Hotel Amour

12

You’re the Top

13

Take Me Home

Autres albums


Frederik Steenbrink September Morn

September Morn

I Get a Kick out of You - Frederik Steenbrink

I Get A Kick…

Duos avec Isabelle Georges